MsBuild publishing failed with VerifyAzureNet46Support

Yesterday I encountered an issue while publishing a web job to Azure.

‘_CheckAzureNet46Support’ with error VerifyAzureNet46Support – [VerifyAzureNet46Support] C:\Program Files (x86)\MSBuild\Microsoft\VisualStudio\v14.0\Web\Microsoft.Web.Publishing.targets(4755, 7): Your hosting provider does not yet support ASP.NET 4.6, which your application is configured to use.

I’ve encountered this issue intermittently, I was a little confused when the version of ASP.NET mentioned is 4.6. If I remember correctly the version of .NET supported by WebApp is up to 4.6 as suggested by Microsoft Blog. If I republish the application things went smooth. Since the environment I am publishing is QA I bothered little.

Later that day I cross checked my mailboxes and found that lots of warning mail mentioning RAM utilization on this App Service Plan. When I looked at them again found that the failed publishing time is falling inside these alerts. I cross checked the same with Microsoft Support team they too confirmed

When high resource utilization occurs on a Web App /App service plan this error occurs.

I was suggested to scale up App Service plan, but I asked QA team to stop using WebApp while a deployment is underway.

Leave a Reply

